Riveroflifelisajoy’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Archive for November 28, 2007

Who Will Save the Witch Children This Christmas? Where are the Celebrities: “Anjolina and Brad” and “Madonna” to the Rescue?! Please Speak Out on this HORROR!

HUNGER AND DOUBT.jpgI read an article in the New York Times early this morning a 4:00 A.M. by journalist,  Sharon La Franiere that changed the tone of my holiday post ThanksGiving –Pre Christmas and  Chanuka Spirit of joy to —deep sadness, horror and disgust.  http://www.nytimes.com/slideshow/2007/11/14/

world/1114-WITCHES_2.html

The above is the place in which to find this excellent yet terrrible depiction and detail of  multiple stories of WITCH HUNTING of children IN AFRICA!!

There are efforts being made to stop this terrible practice,  but it  seems to me that it needs more people to get involved. 

 The alleged country in Africa in which this practice of  severe child neglect,  abuse, and killing is called Angola, according to La Franiere.  The following are some excerpts in quotations of the article  called African Cruicible, Cast as Witches, Then Cast Out,  by  Sharon La Franiere ( 11/15/07 published date)   that I found the most heart gripping:

According  La Franiere  a young boy named,   “Armando Dos Santos was forced to leave his family after being accused of  witchcraft.” (p.1)  As stated by La Franiere, “In Angola it is socially unacceptable to push a child out because of poverty,  but not if they are possessed.”(p. 1) 

 As  I read this I began to wonder,  what will be the fate of this child?  Who will save him?  There are organizations that are stepping up,  but how many children will be lost? According to La Franiere  another description is, “Domingos Pedro accused by his family of being a witch and of causing his father’s death.  His mother Maria worries about attacks by his relatives, so Domingo lives in a shelter.”(p.1) 

 I continued to read in disbelief.  I kept thinking of Oprah Winfrey and what she is attempting to do in South Africa,  and I just felt a sense of overwhelming fear and anxiety for children who could have been my son,  or my brother! 

   I scanned through the pictures of these lost children and I saw a little boy at age 6!  He looked like my son at age 6!  Although my son did not always behave at that age….(what child does?) I could not conceive of even thinking of him as remotely possessed! 

   However,  La Franiere explains,that “the relatives are tossing the children out due to poverty!”(p.1)  How do we as a nation stand by and do nothing?  I know our hands are tied into so many world/global efforts from Iraq,  to Israel with very important peace keeping missions at stake! 

 It is important that America, maintain peace keeping efforts in all the world.  But what about the children who are truly the victims of hunger,  poverty, and now “cast out as witches.” (p.1) What to do?  What to do?

I truly felt a tug at my heart,  and my throat tightened and my eyes welledup as I read the following caption on the picture of Alfonso Garcia, as explained by La Franiere,” African Crucible, Cast as Witches, Then Cast Out- “Alfonso Garcia, 6, came to the shelter in July after his  family paid $20,000 Angolan Kwanzas almost $300.00 to cure him of witch craft.  His family still rejected him saying that he was not cured.”(P.1) 

   I had begun to believe that this  issue was purely about poverty.  But as I continued to read I was shocked to find out that some of the people really think that these children are POSSESSED!!!!  

  La Franiere continued to explain that, “a child accused of witch craft was stabbed to death in 2000, provincial officials and Save the Children the global charitable organizations,  rounded up 432 street children and reunited  380 of them with relatives.” (p.2) 

What makes me feel worse is that I feel powerless to do anything about it except to write about it.  I hurts so deeply to think of children not given a chance at education,  food,  shelter,  or love! 

What will these children turn into if they are not saved before they become adults?  If they survive will there be a place for them to go without education, or training?  La Franiere,  further explains, “Thirty-two boys occupy bunk beds stacked a foot apart,  their few clothes stashed in cardboard boxes underneath .  No shelter exists for girls.(p.2) 

 Where are the girls  I wondered.  I dared not allow myself to think too deeply into that. 

 I just wanted to interest people into reading this article.  There is so much more to it.  La Franiere  clarified, ” In Uige Provenice has a shelter run by the St. Josephs  Catholic Church.”(p.2)

Please take the time to read this article by Sharon La Franiere called, “African Crucible, Cast as Witches Then Cast Out,” in the New York Times, published 11/15/07.

 I hope the United Nations,  and Peace Corp.,  Red Cross,  Doctors without Borders,  and other Child Rights Agencies across the globe come forward and build  a massive public awareness effort and help to re-educate the adults that hold the delicate lives and futures of these Angolan children in the palms of their hands. 

I hope that celebrities who have seen the pain and suffering and have attempted to do something will again use their public influence in ways that will help save the future of this abused children.

 ” Angolina and Brad” have given so much of themselves to the efforts of saving children. 

“Madonna” has taken a child in an effort to save and recreate a bright future for him.  I hope other celebrities make an effort as well.  Once again please read that article and then think about the future of children on the global level.