Riveroflifelisajoy’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

SAND BETWEEN MY TOES…I DONT WEAR SOCKS

I glady tell some people that I do not
wear socks!
My son teases me and says that is why your
feet “LOOK LIKE THAT!”

I love the summer!
I should have been born in the Tropics…
No….I mean it! Really!

I love to feel sun drenched!
I love to feel the warm sun…not the hot
midday sun…but the late afternoon sun
when you sit up under a tree and allow
yourself to feel that breeze and smell
the grass and summer plants and flowers…
with your eyes closed —suddenly you
can even “feel” the earth revolving! You can
hear the leaves on the trees being gently
tosseled by the warm summer winds.

Ah, yes…I love sand between my toes..
I love to see the tops of my feet and toes
become sun tanned…darker that it is
naturally….
I love the red tone my dark skin seems
to take on….
Yes, I truly enjoy SAND BETWEEN MY
TOES!

I remember when I first started working
in Manhattan when I was younger…

My days of walking the Manhattan streets
were fun…except I did not make
enough money to really shop in the
expensive stores…
However, I enjoyed watching the styles
and the people who did shop in those
stores, like Bloomingdales, Macys…etc.

But the Hot Hot streets of Manhattan with
their semi-melt black tar streets would
sometimes feel soft under my toes and
feet when I wore my favorite ballet
slippers as if they were real street shoes.
I loved to dance at that time…so I would go
to a dance studio and attempt to jump
around with “real” dancers in a modern
dance class. I would then leave the class
and afterwards find myself eating a frozen
yogurt from a frozen yogurt stand with
super sweet strawberries on top of my
vanilla frozen yogurt.
I walk down 7th Avenue past 42nd street…
all the way to 34th street and Penn station
and then board the E train to Queens…
the last stop.

I loved the feel of the Manhattan streets in
the summer.
The office workers looked carefree as they
sat watching all the pedestrians walk
by…..Men watching women, and women
talking engrossed in conversations as they
took slow walks back to their buildings to
end their day after lunch.
I know…I had been one of those women
too!
Yet still and all….I loved the City of New
York.
But I still love SAND BETWEEN MY TOES!

When I was about 16 I would go with my
mother to a wealthy woman’s home…Anne
Shaw.
She would rent a house in Fire Island on
Ocean beach.
I loved that place.
My mother would clean that rented home…
and I would walk from the Bay of Ocean
Beach ….on out to the more rough
ocean beach part of the area.
I would literally walk bare foot….I would
saunter down the cement streets…
without a care in the world.
I would wear only my bathing suit and
and smock over it.
I was so thin at the time I would wear
Danskin Leotards/bathing suits.
I had this rich burgandy colored one!
Oh how much I enjoyed those carefree
Days!
Sometimes…most of the time I would bring
my CELLO and play it on the deck of Ms.
Anne Shaw’s rented home that my mother
cleaned while I walked carefree.
I love…SAND BETWEEN MY TOES…
i DON’T WEAR SOCKS EITHER…AND i AM
NOT ASHAMED TO TELL YOU THAT!
i LOVE THE WARM SUMMER SUN, THE
SAND BETWEEN MY TOES…EVEN IF IT IS
ON THE BEACH, OR IN THE BEACH WATER…
i LOVE THE SAND BETWEEN MY TOES…
oH, TO GO BACK TO THOSE CAREFREE DAYS!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

