Riveroflifelisajoy’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What do I do now?—BLOG ON SHINGLES!!!!

UNIVERSE AND WEAVE IN HARMONY

UNIVERSE AND WEAVE IN HARMONY

I WAS HAVING THIS PAIN.   I HAD THIS THING WHILE I WAS AT THE US OPEN KIDS DAY THIS PAST SATURDAY AND IT GOT SO BAD THAT I THOUGHT IT WAS A KIDNEY STONE.  I KEPT DRINKING WATER AND LAYING DOWN ON SUNDAY.   mY

  THIS  WAS  A  VERY, VERY DEEP PAIN IN MY BACK.  I HAVE BEEN HAVING THIS THING SINCE APRIL OF THIS YEAR.  I WENT TO A DOCTOR.–HIP URGENT CARE.  THEY SAID IT WAS NOTHING.

  I TOLD MY DOCTOR…SHE SAID IT WAS NOTHING.  BOTTOM LINE…..IT TURNED OUT TO BE SHINGLES.  HOW DO I KNOW THAT YOU ASK?

  WELL,  THIS PAIN OPENED OUT ONTO MY STOMACH AS A 3 INCH WIDE AND 7 INCH LONG RASH ON MY ABDOMON.  SCARY….THE DOCTOR TOOK ONE LOOK AT IT AND SAID FLATLY SHINGLES.

   I WAS GIVEN A PERSCRIPTION FOR SHINGLES TO PREVENT INFECTION.  PROBLEM….MY SKIN IS SUPPPPPPEEEERRRR SENSITIVE….AND I HAVE SHOOTING PAINS….ALL THIS WHILE I AM ON VACATION. 

 OH LORD….WHAT TO DO!  WILL I BE ABLE TO FUNCTION?  THIS PAIN MAKES IT DIFFICULT TO WORK AROUND IN  THE HOUSE.  I AM GOING TO STOP THIS LITTLE WRITING PIECE IN THE NEXT FEW MINUTES SO I CAN GO LAY DOWN.  I FEEL VERY TIRED…. exhausted and scared….

 I LOOKED UP SHINGLES ON SHINGLESINFO.COM AND FOUND BASIC INFORMATION.  BUT THE CONCERN IS SKIN INFECTION. 

 WOW!  ALL THIS BECAUSE I HAD CHICKENPOX WHEN I WAS 35 YEARS OLD.  NOW I HAVE A NERVE CONDITION CALLED SHINGLES THAT HAS NO KNOWN CURE OR CONTROL.

 

LET ME KNOW IF YOU HAVE ANY KNOWLEGE OF THIS….SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS OR IDEAS….

THANKS!

 

RIVER!!~~~

4 Comments»

  purplume wrote @

Hi I just realized this morning, (unable to sleep with pain), that I have shingles – again.
I’ve been to two doctors this past week, BUT I didn’t show them the rash because I thought it was just insect bites. I thought an insect must have gotten under my shirt at my waist and bit the heck out of me.

Now I see why I have been so tired and uncomfortable for the past week.

I’m sorry for you that you are on vacation. Actually shingles is contagious to anyone who hasn’t had chicken pox. Last time I had shingles, I was working at a hospital and they made me stay home till the rash healed.

I feel relieved. Now I know why I have been so tired and why I hurt so. Having been through this before I can tell you it will get better. A naturopathic doctor I had last time told me to take lots of B vitamins. They bathe the nerve endings. I know I was craving brown rice and brewer’s yeast yesterday.

It seems much easier to me to have it on my torso than last time on my face. If I opened my mouth, even the air in the room felt like I was putting aluminum foil on a filling. Do you know that awful nerve pain? As a result, I couldn’t eat without pain and I lost a lot of weight. (yay).

This time I can see I better be careful about not eating too much comfort.food, because I am too tired to exercise.

It is often misdiagnosed, this condition, so it’s not unusual that they didn’t realize what was making you sick until the doctor saw the rash.

There is great variety it how painful it is to one person versus another, or one episode versus another in the same person. I hope yours will be as easy as possible for you. Do take the time to rest and take good care of you.

I’ve heard that stress brings it on. While we are resting, maybe we can think of ways to reduce stress in our lives.

Be well.

  purplume wrote @

I just looked at the date and see you wrote this almost two years ago. Sorry, I thought you were in the midst of it. So by now you must be all better. I hope it went well for you.

  riveroflifelisajoy wrote @

i still have shingles…i am only a baby of 49….which makes this rare…i have to keep myself healthly and strong by walking and swimming…YEAHHHH!

  purplume wrote @

OMG, you still have them. Poor baby of 49.
Bless you, stay well,
Although whatever works to keep us keepin healthy is a good thing .


Leave a Reply

