Riveroflifelisajoy’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The More Money You Make…..

Hey look,

the Rich complain

about their

Jaguar car

that they

could not get

the “right” color

and the right shade

of ” GREEN?!”

The poor cry for

fresh GREEN

vegetables

on the dinner plate

and wish

they had fresh

milk for

 the baby!

The rich tell

the poor…oh,

why do you want

a raise?

You know

what happens

don’t you?

THE MORE

MONEY

YOU MAKE …

THE MORE

MONEY

YOU SPEND!

But to have

food on the

table,

and fresh

milk for

my child

is too

much to ask

says the

widow?

Oh, but

You do have

a job…

don’t you

say the

rich?

Well then,

that is enough

for you…

You do not want to

be rich….you will

then have more

problems and

be miserable

like me….not

being able

to decide whether

to sell the mansion

and buy another

one so that it gets the

morning sun just

right

as I have my

breakfast

in my garden room!

You poor,  live

your simple life

and then you stay

happy with your

simple rough

grain bread

Trust me,

you are much

happier than us

rich folk,

who have to plan parties

and dinners for

politicians

Keep it simple

state the rich!

But, oh, says

the poor widow,

who shall pay for

the heat in

my home,

who will give me light

when the evening moon

rises high in the dark sky and the stars

twinkle brightly.

Who shall say what

will happen today

without heat for my

child…but you say to

keep it simple

POVERTY IS NEVER SIMPLE!

Who will pay my rent, and

buy my food, for both are

hard to do….states the

widow…Oh, go get another job

state the rich,  and stop complaining

so much…..work it out

and you will see the difference

between you

and me!

Pull yourself

up by the “boot straps”

state the rich, and

then you will be able to have

anything you want.

Oh, alright states the

widow…but until

I am finished pulling

myself up….who will

feed my child, who will

pay the rent, and how will

I buy clothes for

my child! 

The More money you make

the more money  you spend

The more money you make

the more money you spend

Is it spending money to

simply provide the

basic needs of my family

states the widow….or is it

luxury to feed my child?

The more money you

make the more

money you spend

The vortex  of poverty in the malstrom of life

spirals out of control

and the widow’s

questions go

unanswered by

the rich…

3 Comments»

  sky » Blog Archive » The More Money You Make….. wrote @

[…] SteveM wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptrises high in the dark sky and the stars. twinkle brightly. Who shall say what. will happen today. without heat for my. child…but you say to. keep it simple. POVERTY IS NEVER SIMPLE! Who will pay my rent, and. buy my food, for both are … […]

  cindyinsd wrote @

You make a good point.

I think maybe that the answer to your beautifully written poem is that neither the poverty-stricken nor the rich is living in the blessings of God. Maybe the solution is here in Proverbs 30: 7-9.

7 “Two things I ask of you, O LORD;
do not refuse me before I die:

8 Keep falsehood and lies far from me;
give me neither poverty nor riches,
but give me only my daily bread.

9 Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you
and say, ‘Who is the LORD ?’
Or I may become poor and steal,
and so dishonor the name of my God.

Having been on both sides of this equation myself, I can avow that poverty is not a good thing. Riches, also, do not, really, make you happy or godly or good, or even content, but you can afford to take your baby to the doctor instead of going to the drugstore for steri-strips so you can fix that gaping cut yourself. On the other hand, if you’re broke all the time, you can not ruin her life by buying her everything her little eyes desire instead of giving her love and time.

I think Solomon was right. We need enough. Not more nor less.

God’s blessings and strength,

Cindy

  riveroflifelisajoy wrote @

Thank you for the scripture that strengthens the basis of my internal thought and scriptural knowledge.

Thank you,

riveroflifelisajoy


Leave a Reply

