Riveroflifelisajoy’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

OPEN TO THE PUBLIC 11 MONTHS PER YEAR*****USTA BILLYJEAN KING SPORTS COMPLEX FOR TENNIS! GREAT ACTIVITY!

CLICK HERE FOR    SONGS ABOUT  TENNIS  PLAYLIST—RIVEROFLIFELISAJOY

Yesterday I took my son and his two friends to play tennis at the FlushingMeadows Tennis Complex where the yearly US Open is held. 

 I was looking through the internet and happened to view the complex and its history.  I have been there for the US Open Kids day for several years now in August. 

 That is when Venus and her sister and all the other famous players come out and vie for the money and prizes etc.  But as I looked I found out that the complex is open throughout the year for a 11 months to the general public!  So  I called and made a reservation for my son to go play. 

 His tennis buddy, who attends the Junior Academy of Youth and Tennis  of SouthEast Queens founded by  Bill Briggs (www. youthandtennis.org)  and  his buddy that he graduated from the private Grace Lutheran Church and school (grades kindergarten through eigth grade),  were quite happy to go with us. 

 I reserved an outside court for $24.00 at 6:00.   Boy,  yesterday afternoon had perfect weather!   It was not too cool,  not windy at all.  It was sunny and perfect!   Wow!  I was happy for the kids that they could get out and play. 

It was clean, green, pristine…  not one bit of broken glass or garbarge to be seen anywhere! 

 What is my problem?  We should have been coming here before!   I always thought that this fabulous Tennis Complex was off limits to the general public! 

  What beautiful 5 star accomodations for the average tennis player,  or the youth tennis players. 

 I will be taking my son there from now on.  YOu know,  look….I could take him to Cunningham Park,  but the court grounds need to be updated.  So Cunningham courts are grainy…and full of tree twigs, leaves and stuff that could make a player slip and fall.  

   The pristine courts at the Bill Jean King OutDoor courts makes you feel….Yes,  yes!  This is how it is supposed to be. 

 Although I have not played in a while….I can’t wait to go buy a pair of sneakers….But in the meantime there will be more opportunities to take my son….Get out there people…..There was hardly anyone there….I actually felt safe...there are gates all around and there is controled entrance to the grounds —Thank G-d! 

 I sometimes feel nervous at the LIberty Park Tennis Courts because it is so close to the streets where large trucks and busses go. 

 The  Liberty Courts are okay….but it was just the appearance of the FlushingMeadows courts and the nice clean appearance with clean benches for weary tennis Mom’s and spectators! 

 Thank you Mayor Dinkins for such a beautiful addition to Queens!  I had heard that he got a bit of flack for building it…but it was well worth the investment! 

 So you tennis buffs….get out…the weather is good….go rent a court and see how much you like it. 

Hey,  $24.00 is nothing to invest in yourself, or your child’s health…..Get out from under that television or video game…or should I say “computer”????  LOLOLOL!   Yeah…I said it….push yourself away from this little article and come on out into the day light and get some healthy activity going for yourself. 

You will feel better!

Till next blog…..

Oh, and they have people to string your racket if you need it.  My son popped his YONEX  yesterday…so you know what that means….get it re-strung!

(Price for stringing between $30-$40 dollars)—6 to 7 days per week…all day!

Look for the little Tennis Proshop next to the Bubble entrance!!!!!  Parking Lot A

Have Fun!

—–riveroflifelisajoy! 

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

